Chickens With Pants
archives - email - profile - leave a note - Diaryland - My Comic!

Winter

prevFeb. 16, 2004 - 6:34 p.m.next

The wind bites into your skin, setting your face on fire, eyes stinging with tears. The snow has melted--thick ice remains. The days have a blue smell and the nights smell of blackness and void.

When things slow down and I actually think, it isn't the passing of my grandfather that I feel the most, it is the lonliness of my grandmother. For sixty-four years they were married. After only two years of marriage, one child dead, another living, my grandfather went to Europe to fight for his country. When he returned, four more children were born and raised.

Eighty-seven years on this earth. Sixty-four years and four days of marriage. Five living children, one lost. Twelve grandchildren. Eleven great-grandchildren from ages one to fifteen. One wife.

Pawpaw is in the loving arms of God now, but it's Nannie who needs to feel His gentle hand on her shoulder.

<< - >>