Chickens With Pants
archives - email - profile - leave a note - Diaryland - My Comic!

Faster Than the USPS

prevSept. 28, 2005 - 4:01 p.m.next

And here's a letter I sent (once again, thank you,Working For Change) to my Senators. If you are of like mind, you should do the same. As a matter of fact, my next entry will include some great sites that a friend sent me. I'll give proper ...um, props to her then, as well.


I am writing as a constituent of yours to ask that you reject the nomination of John Roberts as Supreme Court Chief Justice based on ethical grounds, including the use of a filibuster if necessary.

What troubles me the most about the Roberts nomination is his behavior in the
Hamdan case. As he was deliberating this case in the D.C. Court of Appeals, he was also secretly meeting with one of the defendants in the case to interview for a job. That defendant, of course, was President Bush, and the job in question is that of Supreme Court justice -- a job offer that requires your consent to be final.

If confirmed as chief justice, John Roberts would be the most powerful judge in America for decades to come. If he can't clearly understand and apply the ethical guidelines that mandate he recuse himself from a case concerning a potential future employer, how can we ever trust him as a fair and impartial arbiter of the nation's laws? Judge Roberts has already demonstrated that he will put his own interests -- and those of the Bush Administration -- above the
impartial ethics required of someone in his position.

I'm also deeply troubled by what I know about Mr. Roberts so far -- including his viewpoint on a "so-called right to privacy," his dissembling with regards to Federalist society membership, and apparent inclinations to strike down national environmental laws based on a narrow interpretation of the commerce clause.

Therefore, I ask that you oppose the nomination of Judge Roberts to the Supreme Court. I ask that you communicate your views on this matter to me as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Jeremy


<< - >>