Chickens With Pants
archives - email - profile - leave a note - Diaryland - My Comic!

First Day

prevMay. 17, 2005 - 6:54 p.m.next

This comes to you from the North Star. Well, not THE North Star, as in the one in the cup of the Big Dipper...but I'm pretty sure that's what this place was named after. Anyway, the North Star is my housing for the summer, here in Alaska. It's a big dorm-like complex, filled mostly with people in their 20's, which greatly lends to the dorm feel. Not lending to the dorm feel is the fact that you can pass people in the hallway at 7pm who are talking about it being bedtime. Some, including myself from time-to-time, start work as early as 4am, some earlier. I found out today that my job will be a glorified "backup." As in baker backup, cashier backup, pole dancer backup. I'll kinda be trained all over in the deli so that when others want/get a day off, I'll be there. In truth, I couldn't have asked for better. I dig it all, so it's good that I get to do it all.


I'm tired. Soooo tired. (Think Blazing Saddles here, people) I got up in Charlotte at 6am and got to bed here in Healy at around 1am...which is 5am EST. Tired.


It's beautiful up here. It's raining now, but when it clears up I'll get some pictures taken and on here. It's cool 'cause I'll be able to take pics even at like midnight. Yeah, that whole all sun thing is freakin me out. Like seriously. Last night at 10:30 I seriously thought it was like 5 or 6. I know I'm not doing justice in describing that, so when I do take pics, I'll make sure to label what time they were taken. It's soooo freaky.


Found out I have to shave my beard. I worked danged hard to get it nice and neat (Carr!e can offer assurance) just to find that they guy who hired me and said it would be fine no longer works here. He was fired but I wasn't offered details. They said I could keep my mustache, but that's so sex-offender creepy. Sideburns will stay though.


Remind me to talk about U2.

<< - >>