Chickens With Pants
archives - email - profile - leave a note - Diaryland - My Comic!

Cycle of Days, with No Break of Sun

prevJun. 01, 2005 - 9:41 p.m.next

I work, I come home, sometimes I nap, sometimes I read, I eat, I sleep. My world. Alaska is beautiful; if you have to be stuck working somewhere, it might as well be here. I have Saturday off, but the shuttle to Fairbanks only runs on Thursdays. That's really smart. Anyway, so no Star Wars for me yet.


For a while I thought my manager didn't like me. She seemed critical and always seemed to be watching me. Well, I figured out why. She is leaving for about 8 or 9 days and she's asked me to be the supervisor! Crazy. I'll have been here 3 weeks by then and I'll be in charge? Eh, actually, I pretty much know what I'm doing already. And it seems that I'm kinda already doing that job when she's not around. This means I won't get a day off that week, and it will have been a long time between them when one finally does come, but it also means mad cash. I know I'll be getting more than 40 hrs and one of the days I'm scheduled for 10 hrs. In Alaska, if you work more than 8 hrs in a day, it's considered overtime. How sweet is that? Even if you only work 30 hrs, if you do it in 3 days, that's overtime pay. Anyway, I came here to work, so I'm fine with all these hours.


Have no idea what's going on with Mel and me. I think we're doing fine, but come September it looks like we'll be parting again. Again. *sigh* I wish I could figure out what to do. I am fully aware that a number of my readers won't want to "hear" this, but I really love that girl. We'll see.


Well, although the sun disagrees with me, it's almost 10pm and I have to be at work at 4am on the 3:30 bus, so I'd better git. Thank God for naps.

<< - >>