Chickens With Pants
archives - email - profile - leave a note - Diaryland - My Comic!

Creation

prevOct. 07, 2005 - 2:02 a.m.next

Had an amazing time in Rock Hill last night. Anita took me to a Vietnamese place...well, a restaurant, she didn't just take me to some Vietnamese place and leave me. So we ate Vietnamese then sat on the coolest porch, then I did a mini concert, then we drank coffee and chatted and listened to great music. Being around her and at her place is always so peaceful. I've only been over once before, and that wasn't in Rock Hill, but her house has the same relaxed welcoming atmosphere that her arms have. She's a great hugger. Hugs not drugs, kids. Okay?


On the Nose is coming along well. I now have a total of 11 comics complete. I've signed up with Comic Genesis to host the comic. That will be up in a week or so. It may be dorky, Krystal, but it's something I've always wanted to do. I actually started drawing comics back in 5th grade. They were an odd cross between Calvin & Hobbes and The Far Side (don't ask me how). Those two were the most influential comics to me, so of course as a novice I tried imitation of what I loved. I think that's something that is important in a creativity: start with imitation of what you love and soon you'll find your own "voice" through evolution of the work. My visual art is very much the same way. When I took classes in New Mexico, I took parts of what my teacher was doing but then added my own concepts and ideas. My altered book, for those of you that have seen it, is a prime example. Bev would never have come up with something as...I don't know, crammed together as my book. So much of what she taught me shows up in what I did though; it's just that I was secure enough in my own creativity that I could head down a road that she never showed me on any maps. If you haven't seen it, ask me some time and I'll show you. It's an amazing piece of art, I'll say so myself. I don't think it's bad when an artist can say that something he created is good. This book is good. Anyway, have a good evening/day or whatever time it is that you read this.

<< - >>