Chickens With Pants
archives - email - profile - leave a note - Diaryland - My Comic!

"Jump Up, Jump Up, and Get Down!"

prevSept. 29, 2004 - 5:24 p.m.next

"If we couldn't laugh we would all go insane." --Jimmy Buffett

Your's truely, the author of this horribly boring, sometimes taxing online journal, almost died today. I came within 5 inches of being caught at 65mph between a stopped tractor trailer and a moving tractor trailer that decided it wanted to occupy the right lane...the one I was in. It wasn't a pretty sight. I came off the side of the road into the grass doing almost 70 because I had to get around the broken down truck before I could do anything. My nerves were shot and my brakepads smelled for the next hour or so. It's funny the things that first go through your mind after something like that. I was surprised at what my mind chose to be important enough to think about immediately following a near death experience.

In other news, Denny's will be glad to hear that I have started an online comic strip. I'm still 5-7 days away from having it up completely, but soon my friends. Oddly, this comes right after moving out of the computer owning house. The highest level of technology my brother and I reach is a Play Station. Not to mention I'm goign to be going on tour pretty soon. Oh well, it's still something to do, and hopefully when I get off tour I'll have many, many strips to post, no? Oui.

So like I said before, I saw TMBG again last night! The first time in Charleston (just 3 nights ago) was more of a concert compared to Asheville's being more of a rock party. There were large sections of the audience last night that never stopped jumping up. I'd say "up and down" but you can't really jump down; you jump up and gravity takes over from there. A massive 200+ person conga line formed at the command of guitar John during a "3 minute conga song," as he called it. Even keyboard John was prone to jump up during a song or two.

Okay, while I'm on the subject of that verb (jump), I'd like to take aim at something that has really gotten on my nerves since finding out about it 2 nights ago. Familiar with the band Jump Little Children? Not anymore you're not. They recently changed their name to Jump. I'm, sorry, what? Yeah, Jump. Forgive me if I throw a bit of opinion in here (because I neeeever have before!), but that's the stupidest...er, most stupid thing I've ever heard. Dumb, dumb, dumb. ...while I'm on that subject, a bunch of my Jump LITTLE CHILDREN CDs were stolen by the bastards. If you'd like to help me, simply click the Help Me! link above. Much love.


Countdown: 2 days until Family Kerr arrives in America!

<< - >>