Chickens With Pants
archives - email - profile - leave a note - Diaryland - My Comic!

John and John '04

prevSept. 27, 2004 - 7:23 p.m.next

So Mel isn't as cruel and heartless as I made her out to be in the previous entry. And yes, I am on her list of priorities, I know that. Things are slightly more worked out than before because it turns out I did end up going to Charleston for the They Might Be Giants concert at The Music Farm, which TMBG wrote a song that afternoon for called "The Music Farm."

Anyway, the concert: it was amazing. I haven't been to a "popular" band concert in a long time, and those were at arenas. Mel and I, through much thought out planning (i.e., being told the wrong time on the phone) found ourselves at the venue almost 20 minutes before the opening act would even take stage. This meant that, thanks mainly to a fabulous arm blocking manuever by your's truely, we spent the entire concert on the front row, house right, directly in front of the keyboard John. (As opposed to the guitar John.) We could not have asked for a better location to watch this concert that has been 14 years in the making for me.

The opening act was singer/accordian and cymbal player Corn Mo, whom I now love. Not only did he play a mean accordian, but he strapped a drum stick to his right shoe to frequently play his own rhythm section on a cymbal placed upside-down on the floor. He sang such songs as "Busey Boy," which tells the heartwarming story of a young man who gets mistaken for Gary Busey, something I'm sure we can all identify with. Then there was "What's That?," the song that answers what 19th century men might have asked the women of their age when trying to see their necks under all those layers of collars.

But of course, the 2 Johns were the show stealers of the evening...or were they? The "unknowable" Dan Miller on guitar was one of the finest musicians I have ever laid eyes or ears on. His acoustic guitar opening to "Istanbul (Not Constantinople)" was not only gorgeous to listen to, but watching it baffled the imagination. How that man's right hand stayed attatched to his arm is beyond me. Oddly enough, it was "Birdhouse in Your Soul" that recieved the greatest love of the night. As soon as it started there was an electricity and power in the room unmatched by any other song.

All that to say it was really good; I liked it. Check the They Might Be Giants website. If there is a show within 4 hours of you, go. If it is more than 4 hours, ask yourself, "WWJJD?" "What would the 2 Johns do?" They would say go.

<< - >>